The Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal

BY Jake Grate

March 10, 2014

On Sunday, April 6, 30 Superstars will celebrate both the 30th anniversary of WrestleMania and one of the greatest WWE Superstars of all time when they compete in the first-ever Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal.

Announced by WrestleMania 30 host “The Immortal” Hulk Hogan — whose bodyslam of Andre at WrestleMania III in front of 93,000 WWE fans remains one of the most iconic Show of Shows moments — the contest will feature 30 competitors seeking to create a lasting WrestleMania moment, etch their name in the history book and capture the Andre the Giant Memorial Trophy, made in the image of the inaugural member of the WWE Hall of Fame, who was all but unbeatable in the battle royal format.

With so much on the line, this first-time-ever contest promises wild action and free-for-all mayhem, as the only way to win is to endure in the squared circle as 29 other Superstars are hurled over the top rope and onto the Mercedes-Benz Superdome’s floor.

Immediately following Hogan’s announcement of the contest, speculation began to “run wild” on who might enter the fray.

So far, the following Superstars have thrown their hats in the ring:

  • Dolph Ziggler
  • Intercontinental Champion Big E
  • Fandango
  • Alberto Del Rio
  • Damien Sandow
  • Titus O’Neil
  • Christian
  • Sheamus
  • Big Show
  • Mark Henry
  • Heath Slater
  • Jinder Mahal
  • Drew McIntyre
  • Cody Rhodes
  • Goldust
  • Kofi Kingston
  • The Miz
  • Brodus Clay
  • Darren Young
  • Justin Gabriel
  • Rey Mysterio
  • R-Truth
  • Santino Marella
  • The Great Khali
  • Zack Ryder
  • Sin Cara
  • Brad Maddox

As the legendary Andre the Giant is honored, who will author their own WrestleMania highlight in the towering grandeur of The Showcase of the Immortals? Find out when WrestleMania 30 airs live on WWE Network Sunday, April 6, starting at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT, and as The Road to WrestleMania continues, check back for updates on newly announced participants!